San Juan Island Fire Department creates Hall of Fame; formal induction Oct. 11

The San Juan Island Fire Department has created a Hall of Fame to honor the men and women who have given their time and efforts to develop a successful fire department.

Celebrating its 50th anniversary, the department has honored 21 who served as commissioners, officers, firefighters and supporters.

The list includes Art Fuehr, commissioner and chief, who is credited with acquiring the first fire engines owned by the department, as well as performing the maintenance on them and responding to a fire with a fire truck that was itself on fire.

Also included is the late Frank Wilson, who led Emergency Medical Services while it was part of Fire District 3.

There are five past chiefs in District 3: Along with Fuehr, there is Jud Callendar, Mike Peters, Glen Potter, and Bill McLaughlin, each making the Hall of Fame for their efforts to develop the department into what it is today.

Additional charter inductees are Dan Berg, Brad Creesy, Ron Garner, Shirley Holmgreen, Carolyn Hudson, Peter Kilpatrick, Don McLaskey, Mac McPheeter, Dick Morrison, Ross Miner, Meredith Palmer, Elizabeth “Pete” Plunkett, Allan Smith, Francis Smith and Jim Traub.

“The community is invited to attend a formal presentation during the Safety Fair, which is on Saturday, Oct. 11, from 11 a.m. to 2 p.m., at the Mullis Street Fire Station,” Chief Steve Marler said in a press release.