Friday Harbor football loses to Bellingham; Induction ceremony brings five more to hall of fame | Slideshow

Senior quarterback Jess Hargrove runs down the field

Friday Harbor football team suffered a hard loss against Bellingham on Oct. 2, losing 54-8.

At half time, five past football players were inducted in the Wolverine Football Hall of Fame to join 13 others.

Nathan Steenkolk, the youngest of the five, wore #40 and played for the Wolverines from 2010-2013 as a fullback and linebacker with coaches Darrin Scheffer and Richard Ledford. He was a 4-year starter, and 4 years First Team All-League Player. Steenkolk played in the 2014 Washington State All-Star Game as a Fullback and Linebacker where he scored a touchdown in the State All-Star Game. Steenkolk lives in Oregon and plans to become a United States Marine.

The next inductee was Ben Waldron, who wore #3 and played as a running back and corner back from 1995-1997 with coach Gene Wilson. He was a unanimous selection 1st Team All-League Running Back and Defensive Back in 1997. Waldron was also a 1st Team All-State Player in 1997, and played in the 1998 Washington State All-Star Football Game as a running back and cornerback. Waldron now works as an EMT here in Friday Harbor.

The third inductee, Nathan Prescott, played for the Wolverines for four years, 1995-1998 with coach Gene Wilson. Prescott wore #44 and was a 4-year starter, made 160 tackles in his senior season and once made 30 tackles in one game. Prescott was chosen as 1998 1st Team All-State Linebacker and played in the 1999 Washington State All-Star Game as a Fullback and Linebacker. Prescott now lives in Massachusetts as a commercial fisherman.

Sean Stortzum, the fourth inductee, also wore #44 and played during the 1991-1993 seasons as a receiver, running back, defensive back and quarterback with coach Ruben Woodruff. Stortzum went on to play four years college football as cornerback for Linfield College. He now lives in Beaverton, Oregon and is a real estate appraiser.

The final recipient was Marty Pujolar, who wore #44 during the 1990-1991 seasons with coach Ruben Woodruff as a wide receiver and defensive back. He received the 1991 Wolverine MVP Award for both offense and defense, and played four years of college football as a wide receiver at the University of Puget Sound. His college team voted him as team captain in 1995. Pujolar now lives on Bainbridge Island and is an attorney in Seattle.

The Wolverine Football Hall of Fame Commemorative Programs will be on sale at the remaining home games, featuring 43 years of history of local football, as well as the new inductees and 2014 and 2015 team picture and roster. All proceeds go to the Purple and Gold Club.

The following are past inductees, some of who attended the half time ceremony Oct. 2:

Ray Sheffer ’74, ¬†Craig Blakeway ’76, Chris Lawson ’77, Danny Cumming ’03, Tyler Roberts ’04, George Myers ’04, David Ahrenius ’05, Tim Cumming ’05, Tyler Hart ’06, Cole Franklin ’06, Michael GrosJacques ’07, Parker lawson ’09, Roy Taylor, Jr. ’10.