Four contested races on San Juan Island; special filing period added for several races

This will be an election season to remember:

The first contested race for mayor of Friday Harbor since 1997.

Contested races for Friday Harbor Town Council, Friday Harbor Port Commission, and San Juan Island Park and Recreation Commission.

Barring challenges from write-in candidates, several candidates have new jobs come Jan. 1: Noel Monin, appointed Thursday to a Town Council vacancy, is the sole candidate to serve out the rest of the term, which expires Dec. 31, 2011. On the San Juan Island School Board, Roche Harbor General Manager Brent Snow and Friday Harbor High School PTA president Deborah Nolan are sole candidates for board positions.

Other office holders are unopposed in their reelection bids. Some positions have no candidates at all; a special filing period for those positions will be held Wednesday through Friday next week.

Here are the candidates for positions on San Juan Island. The county Elections Department Web site has posted the names of candidates for all positions in San Juan County.

Town of Friday Harbor
— Robert Low
— Carrie Lacher

Council Member 2:
— Noel Monin

Council Member 3:
— Anna Maria de Freitas

Council Member 4:
— Felix Menjivar
— Clinton Mills

San Juan Island School District 149 (San Juan)
School Board Director 1:
— Brent Snow

School Board Director 2:
— Deborah Nolan

San Juan County Fire Protection District 3 (San Juan)
Fire Commissioner 2:
— Bob Jarman

Port of Friday Harbor
Port Commissioner 3:
— Greg Hertel
— Sharon Kivisto

San Juan Island Park & Recreation District
Park & Recreation Commissioner 2:
— Jeremy M. Talbott
— Amy H. Windrope

Park & Recreation Commissioner 3:
— Scott Zehner

Park & Recreation Commissioner 5:
— Jim Ricks

San Juan Island Cemetery District No. 1
Cemetery Commissioner 2:
— Steve Dubail

San Juan County Hospital District No. 1
Hospital Commissioner 3:
— Lenore L. Bayuk

Hospital Commissioner 5:
— Michael B. Roger

Cattle Point Water District
Water Commissioner 1:
— Virgene C. Bornholdt

Water Commissioner 3:
— Laurie Burns

We encourage an open exchange of ideas on this story's topic, but we ask you to follow our guidelines for respecting community standards. Personal attacks, inappropriate language, and off-topic comments may be removed, and comment privileges revoked, per our Terms of Use. Please see our FAQ if you have questions or concerns about using Facebook to comment.
blog comments powered by Disqus

Read the Oct 26
Green Edition

Browse the print edition page by page, including stories and ads.

Browse the archives.

Friends to Follow

View All Updates