Journal of the San Juan Islands


Paterson, Goddu earn SJ Fire & Rescue top 2013 service awards

February 6, 2014 · 1:25 PM

SJ Fire & Rescue 2013 Service Award recipients, from left; Ian Paterson, Joseph Foriska, Brent Johnson, Michael Hart, Brandon Baney, Ron Garner, Kurt Long, Peter Goddu. (not pictured, Tom Odegard). / Contributed photo/John Miller

San Juan Island firefighters Ian Paterson and Peter Goddu earned top honors at San Juan Island Fire & Rescue's 2013 Service Awards celebration.

Recipients were honored as part of an award ceremony at UW Friday Harbor Laboratories, Feb. 1.

Paterson was named 2013 "Department Firefighter of the Year" and Goddu was honored as "Officer of the Year." Other awards winners include:

Joseph Foriska, Station 31 Firefighter of the Year; Brent Johnson, Support Volunteer of the Year; Michael Hart, Station 34 Firefighter of the Year; Brandon Baney, Rookie of the Year; Ron Garner, Wildland Fire Safety Award; Kurt Long, Fire Boat Crew Member of the Yea; Tom Odegard, Tender Operator of the Year.

In addition to the service awards, five firefighters were recognized for "longevity and years of service: Slava Caireac, five years; Jeremy Talbott, 10 years; Albert Olson, 15 years; Jim Sesby, 25 years; Brad Creesy, 30 years.

To learn more about San Juan Island Fire & Rescue or to volunteer, 378-5334, or stop by the Mullis Street Station.



Commenting Rules

© Sound Publishing, Inc.
All rights reserved.
Our Titles | Work With Us