Interest proves uneven in race for public office

Friday Harbor Mayor Carrie Lacher reads a dedication at the town
Friday Harbor Mayor Carrie Lacher reads a dedication at the town's annual Sept. 11 memorial observance, in Memorial Park.
— image credit: Journal file photo

The first round of 2013 election filings ended Friday, May 17, with 47 candidates filing for election to 34 public offices.

Eleven offices attracted no candidates.

A special filing period begins Wednesday, May 22, and ends Friday, May 24. If no filings are made for any of these positions, the current officeholder is automatically re-elected to serve another term. If the officeholder resigns, the commission in question appoints a replacement.

Open races may be found at

Friday Harbor Mayor Carrie Lacher and 21 other candidates are unopposed for election.

Only one race, Position 4 on the Friday Harbor Town Council, has three candidates, necessitating a primary election on Aug. 6 for that one position. Incumbent county Deputy Sheriff Felix Menjivar is opposed by former Friday Harbor Planning Commission Chairman Farhad Ghatan and Matt W. Shildneck.

In other contested races on San Juan Island, two-term incumbent Port of Friday Harbor Commissioner Mike Ahrenius is opposed by New England Antiques owner Daniel Miller, former county councilman Howie Rosenfeld faces off against Mark Schwinge for Public Hospital District Commissioner position 1, and incumbent San Juan Island Park and Recreation Commissioner Scott Zehner is opposed by Ian Paterson for position 3.

Unopposed San Juan Island candidates are: incumbent Anna Maria de Freitas for Friday Harbor Council position 4; incumbent chairman Brent Snow and newcomer June Arnold for San Juan Island School District positions 1 and 2, respectively; incumbent John E. Jensen for Fire Commissioner position 1 in Fire Protection District 3; incumbent San Juan Island Park & Recreation Commissioners Tracy Robertson in position 2 and Jacqueline Reiff in position 5; and incumbent SJI Cemetery District 3 Commissioners Jeri Lynn Ahrenius and Warren Jones in positions 1 and 3, respectively.

The 22 unopposed candidates and the 11 two-candidate contests will only appear on the November general election ballot.


We encourage an open exchange of ideas on this story's topic, but we ask you to follow our guidelines for respecting community standards. Personal attacks, inappropriate language, and off-topic comments may be removed, and comment privileges revoked, per our Terms of Use. Please see our FAQ if you have questions or concerns about using Facebook to comment.

Read the Oct 19
Green Edition

Browse the print edition page by page, including stories and ads.

Browse the archives.

Friends to Follow

View All Updates