Race is on: contested races loom for SJ School board, charter review commission | Elections

There could be some drama in store in the election season ahead.

Voters on San Juan Island will have candidates to select from in a number of contested races for locally elected public office. And with three incumbents on the San Juan Island schools board of directors opting not to run for reelection, the race for those three positions is wide open.

At the close of the candidate filing period, Friday, June 10, two people had signed up to run for each of the school district’s three open positions on the board.

The race for position No. 3 will feature a first-time candidate for public office, Robin DeLaZarda, a member of the elementary school principal search committee, and Ralph Hahn, a former Friday Harbor High School principal, whose public office resume includes a term on Island Rec’s board of directors.

Friday Harbor’s Jennifer Furber will go head-to-head against Joann Ashlock for position No. 4., and Jack McKenna and Callie McKay will compete for position No. 5. All four school board positions are four-year terms.

San Juan County’s first-ever charter review commission drew a large turnout, with a total of 33 candidates seeking 21 positions drawn — in various numbers — from each of the county’s six legislative district.

While four of the districts generated a surplus of candidates, District 3, Friday Harbor, and District 6, Lopez/Shaw, are each one candidate shy of filing its allotment on the commission; three for Friday Harbor, four for Lopez/Shaw.

Prospective candidates can still file to run for those two positions, as well as several others, as part of a “special” three-day filing period, beginning June 15. State law allows for a “special” three-day filing period in the event no candidates file for an elected office or fewer file than are required to fill a particular commission.

While interest in the charter review commission and San Juan Island school board is high, several incumbents will return to office uncontested.

Friday Harbor Port Commissioner Barbara Marrett and San Juan Island Fire Commission Albert Olsen are unopposed for reelection. Town of Friday Harbor Treasurer Wendy Picinich is also unopposed for a new four-year term, as are three members of the town council, Steve Hushebeck, Noel Monin and Barbara Starr.

— Scott Rasmussen

Those interested in becoming a candidate during the three-day extended filing period can submit the necessary paperwork at the county Elections office, 55 Second Street, either in person or online.

A complete list of candidates, open positions and filing information is available at the county Elections website;


We encourage an open exchange of ideas on this story's topic, but we ask you to follow our guidelines for respecting community standards. Personal attacks, inappropriate language, and off-topic comments may be removed, and comment privileges revoked, per our Terms of Use. Please see our FAQ if you have questions or concerns about using Facebook to comment.
blog comments powered by Disqus

Read the Oct 26
Green Edition

Browse the print edition page by page, including stories and ads.

Browse the archives.

Friends to Follow

View All Updates