Lifestyle

Early praise for Williams’ ‘Tsunami Blue’; second book forthcoming by Cape San Juan novelist

New York Times bestselling author Stella Cameron (‘Out of Body,’ ‘Cypress Nights’) said Gayle Ann Williams’ ‘Tsunami Blue’ is ‘an intriguing mile-a-minute adventurous tale of sexy survival in a paranormal world.’  - Dorchester Publishing
New York Times bestselling author Stella Cameron (‘Out of Body,’ ‘Cypress Nights’) said Gayle Ann Williams’ ‘Tsunami Blue’ is ‘an intriguing mile-a-minute adventurous tale of sexy survival in a paranormal world.’
— image credit: Dorchester Publishing

Gayle Ann Williams of Cape San Juan is the author of “Tsunami Blue,” a paranormal romance just released by Dorchester Publishing.

New York Times bestselling author Stella Cameron (“Out of Body,” “Cypress Nights”) said “Tsunami Blue” is “an intriguing mile-a-minute adventurous tale of sexy survival in a paranormal world.”

“Tsunami Blue” is Williams’ debut novel. It was chosen for publication after winning Dorchester’s Shomi Writing Contest.

“We had a lot of great entries for the contest, but I have to say that this one stood out from the very beginning for me because of its fascinating premise and incredibly well-drawn characters,” Dorchester editor Leah Hultenschmidt said in a press release.

“Tsunami Blue” was heavily inspired by a trip Williams took to Southeast Asia in 2004. Her plane landed 12 hours after the historic tsunami devastated the area. As she traveled throughout the region, Williams witnessed the effects of the rogue wave that came ashore. When she revisited the memories of her trip, the idea for a story came to her.

“Tsunami Blue” takes place after a number of major tsunamis have reduced much of the world to a series of islands. Kathryn “Blue” O’Malley, known as Tsunami Blue, is a voice of hope across the radio airwaves, for she has a special ability to predict where the next tsunami will hit and can warn her fellow survivors.

Tsunami Blue lives alone on an island with only her dog Max for company, hoping to stay under the radar of the Runners, ruthless pirates who want to use her special talents for their own profiteering — as soon as they can find her.

Blue’s only shot at survival lies with the stranger who washes up on her rocky beach — a man who might just be working for Runners himself. Torn between suspicion and attraction, the two have to navigate a surging tide of danger and deceit if they hope to stay alive.

Hultenschmidt said “Tsunami Blue” is part of the latest cross-genre trend that ties strong female protagonists to science fiction and romance. She said “Tsunami Blue” is expected to appeal to fans of Gena Showalter, Patricia Briggs and Ilona Andrews.

Williams is under contract to write a sequel to “Tsunami Blue.”

We encourage an open exchange of ideas on this story's topic, but we ask you to follow our guidelines for respecting community standards. Personal attacks, inappropriate language, and off-topic comments may be removed, and comment privileges revoked, per our Terms of Use. Please see our FAQ if you have questions or concerns about using Facebook to comment.
blog comments powered by Disqus

Read the latest Green Edition

Browse the print edition page by page, including stories and ads.

Jul 16 edition online now. Browse the archives.