Home

Journal of the San Juan Islands

Back

Community Theatre presents Metropolitan Opera & best of British theater

August 16, 2013 · 1:46 PM
Comments

An encore performance of 'Carmen' kicks off San Juan Community Theatre's new program: The Met: Live in HD and National Theatre Live, Sunday, Aug. 18. / Contributed photo/SJCT

You can now enjoy productions at the New York Metropolitan Opera and the best of British theater from the London stage without ever leaving "The Rock".

San Juan Community Theatre has joined more than 1,900 theaters, including Orcas Center, in 64 different countries in presenting, "The Met: Live in HD and National Theatre Live," live transmissions recorded via satellite feed and then presented to theater audiences.

The program kicks off Sunday, Aug. 18, with an encore performance of The Met's Carmen. The program premier also features a Mediterranean dinner prepared by Gretchen Allison, former owner and chef of Duck Soup Inn.

The partnership with The Met Live program, which includes purchase of new satellite, sound and projector equipment, was made possible by a bequest to the theatre by the late Dodie Gann.

“Our new high definition projector and the amazing sound upgrades bring the world stage into our community,” SJCT Artistic Director Susan Williams said. “Watching the most exciting talents in the world perform with the Met and National Theatre is an experience you won't forget.”

Tickets for Sunday's program premier and fundraising event are available on-line at www.sjctheatre.org.

2013-2014 season schedule:

Monday, Sept. 9 *     National Theatre Live: The Audience featuring Helen Mirren

Monday, Sept. 30 National Theatre Live: Othello

Sunday, Oct. 6 The Met: Live in HD:   Eugene Onegin (Tchaikovsky)

Sunday, Nov. 3 The Met: Live in HD: The Nose (Shostakovich)

Monday, Nov. 4 National Theatre Live:  Macbeth featuring Kenneth Branagh

Sunday, Nov. 17 The Met: Live in HD Tosca (Puccini)

Sunday, Dec. 29 The Met: Live in HD Falstaff (Verdi)

Monday, Feb. 10 National Theatre Live:  Coriolanus

Sunday, Feb. 16 The Met: Live in HD     Rusalka (Dvorák)

Sunday, March 16 The Met: Live in HD Prince Igor (Borodin)

Monday, March  31 The Met: Live in HD Werther (Massenet)

Sunday, April 13 The Met: Live in HD     La Bohéme (Puccini)

Sunday, May 25 The Met: Live in HD Cosí Fan Tutte (Mozart)

Sunday, June 8 The Met: Live in HD Cenerentola (Rossini)

*Monday Events: 7 p.m. Sunday Events: 2 p.m.

 

 

Commenting Rules

© Sound Publishing, Inc.
All rights reserved.
Our Titles | Work With Us