20 selected for Leadership San Juan Islands Class of 2009

Leadership San Juan Islands has selected 20 diverse individuals from the community for the 2009 class.

San Juan Island:
— Angie Atwell
— Kristy Ayers
— Bettye Hendricksen
— Katie Loring
— Barbara Marrett
— Kiara McLaughlin
— Tracy Roberson
— Brian Windrope

Orcas Island:
— Louise Carnachan
— Owen Cheevers
— Margie Doyle
— Ethna Flanagan
— Steve Gresham
— Barbara LaBrash
— Learner Limbach
— Marta-Maria Nielson

Lopez Island:
— Cheryl Harlan
— Suzi Marean
— Claire Nollman
— Lou Pray

These individuals come from the business, education, government, health and social services, and non-profit sectors.

They will kick off the 2009 program with an orientation at Harrison House B&B in Friday Harbor Jan. 9, and a retreat weekend Jan. 23 and 24 at Heartwood House Orcas Island.

The program will continue through May with monthly Challenge Days held at locations throughout the islands, presenting activities, discussions and speakers on a major topic. A closing retreat and commencement will be held in May.

For more information about Leadership San Juan Islands, visit Or contact program coordinator Cynthia Stark Wickman, 370-5470,

For sponsorship opportunities, to make contributions and donations, contact Liz Illg, Leadership San Juan Islands president, 317-4010,

We encourage an open exchange of ideas on this story's topic, but we ask you to follow our guidelines for respecting community standards. Personal attacks, inappropriate language, and off-topic comments may be removed, and comment privileges revoked, per our Terms of Use. Please see our FAQ if you have questions or concerns about using Facebook to comment.
blog comments powered by Disqus

Read the Oct 26
Green Edition

Browse the print edition page by page, including stories and ads.

Browse the archives.

Friends to Follow

View All Updates