Joy Sevier elected president of the San Juan Island Chamber of Commerce

The following local business people have been elected officers of the San Juan Island Chamber of Commerce for 2009.

President: Joy Sevier, San Juan Wireless.

Vice president: Peggy Long, Garuda & I, Naknek Charters & Diving.

Secretary: Yvonne Swanberg, San Juan Vineyards.

Treasurer: Ruth Offen, waterworks gallery.

Board member: Mike Taylor, Whidbey Island Bank.

Board member: Mark Gardner, Rainshadow Photographics.

Board member: Julie Corey, Friday Harbor Mortgage.

Board member: Libbey Oswald, Valmark, Inc.

Board member: Sam Jacobson, Roche Harbor.

Board member: Mike Close, San Juan Island Marine Center.

Immediate past president: Nancy Hanson, The Toy Box.