Disaster assistance for small businesses

San Juan County is one of 35 Washington counties and eight neighboring Oregon counties, now eligible for small, nonfarm businesses to apply for low-interest disaster loans from the U.S. Small Business Administration.

“These loans offset economic losses because of reduced revenues caused by the combined effects of excessive rain, flooding, below normal temperatures, high winds, frosts and freezes occurring January 1 through July, 31, 2011,” said Alfred E. Judd, Director of SBA’s Disaster Field Operations Center.

Small, nonfarm businesses, small agricultural cooperatives, small businesses engaged in aquaculture and most private, nonprofit organizations of any size may qualify for Economic Injury Disaster Loans of up to $2 million.

Eligibility is based on the financial impact of the disaster and not on any actual property damage. These loans have an interest rate of 4 percent for businesses and 3 percent for private, nonprofit organizations, a maximum term of 30 years.

Businesses primarily engaged in farming or ranching are not eligible for SBA disaster assistance.

Applicants may apply online using the Electronic Loan Application via SBA’s secure website at or by calling 1-800-659‑2955, emailing, or visiting  Individuals who are deaf or hard-of-hearing may call 1-800-877-8339.

We encourage an open exchange of ideas on this story's topic, but we ask you to follow our guidelines for respecting community standards. Personal attacks, inappropriate language, and off-topic comments may be removed, and comment privileges revoked, per our Terms of Use. Please see our FAQ if you have questions or concerns about using Facebook to comment.

Read the Oct 19
Green Edition

Browse the print edition page by page, including stories and ads.

Browse the archives.

Friends to Follow

View All Updates